To new resolutions, to growing up

I made my resolve to write a travelogue pretty public. Facebook and all. All for accountability. But that is not going to happen till next week unless I change my mind tomorrow.

In the meantime, I have some news. It looks like the hipster 30+ folks in this household are finally willing to grow up. Heavy, can’t-move-anymore eating has been pushed only to weekends. For almost two months now. This feeling that comes after having breakfast for dinner has left me feeling incredible. Of course morons and sycophants still happen. But at least physically I am raring to get into a fist fight again. After many, many months. Watch out, world!

Then of course is the next huge decision. Giving the stick a break. It has been almost 24 hours and I am not sure if it’s the patch or that I was never really into it (yeah, sure.) But all this newfound oxygen in the household sure feels good! Smoke free since.. Errrm.. I wish I was 33 to make that rhyme but that would have been too late.

I have known a lot of people who tried many, many times before really quitting. So right now, I am not sure if the household has given up for good. But being strong willed has never been an issue in these quarters. Why else would I be in so much trouble with people who can’t handle truth when it is said like it is – always? But hey, I am not perfect.

Of course idiots want to know if all of this is because of any impending child bearing. All I can say is whether or not I have a child is my business. But a clean lung and a flying-ash free living room never hurt anyone. As for child bearing. If I decide to really just go ahead and do it in three months or six, it wouldn’t hurt to not have to reinvent the wheel. Whether or not I want one, is still a matter of major contention. But everywhere I look, I see pregnant women these days. Office building, condo, grocery store, pasar malam. I am not sure if it’s a sign but i guess I will have to reverse engineer the reason a few years later.

Yup, that’s about it for now. A load of other shit going on. But I am making a conscious effort not to give it undue attention. It’s somewhere at the back of my mind but nothing I need to deal with or think about at 10:15 on a Saturday night.

What do you know, I am all grown up! Go me!

This entry was posted in growing up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

