On moving on..

For most part of my working life, I didn’t get why organizations made such a hoopla about people moving on. Considering I was usually the one moving on, you can say it was a somewhat biased opinion. I finish seven years of working life today, and surprisingly, it’s not me who is developing the seven year itch.

And funnily, I totally understand the hoopla now. These last two and a half years, for the first time, I had the patience to see through tough/ bored times at work. There was more to it than just returns. I left jobs with excellent returns because of too much work life balance (yeah, you read that right), because I didn’t enjoy the work although the place was super fun, and many other reasons that did not make complete sense to the many recipients of my resignation letters. But I am glad that I did those things. That I moved on every single time. I learned that no job is perfect and even the ones you really enjoy and love get monotonous on some days, clients come and go, and that job satisfaction is as much a function of decision as happiness. If I hadn’t job hopped, been bored, or been incredibly impatient for the first five years of my career, I wouldn’t have known this.

And in the middle of this seven year itch from other quarters that is enough to drive me up the wall, I realize that everybody needs those experiences. That flying off the nest. The opportunity to unlearn and relearn. At some level, I want to hold it against them. Because I am scared. For them and myself. But I have to remind myself of the person I was five years ago. And I realize that if I am unwilling to let go, unsure of ever finding a replacement, they must have been the assets that everybody should be. That they were the kids who brought their hearts to work. And yet, don’t want a comfort zone to take them in at the quarter of their century. They make me feel young and raring to go when my own seven year itch shows signs of appearing. And for that alone, I should let go.

Yup, still unwilling to be as objective about work and people as I should be at my age and experience. Perhaps an MBA would have taught me how to call people “resources” without flinching. But I like it this way. 

This entry was posted in adult life, growing up, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

