Switching off for a bit

I haven’t checked my work email for almost 24 hours now. If you knew me, you’d know what an achievement that is. You know those “everything wrong you do to mess up your work life balance” articles that you see all over the internet? Yes, I do all of that. I don’t leave work at work, I take things personally sometimes (hah!), I operate like if I don’t take care of something, the world would end the very next minute, I suffer the urge to reply to emails the minute they hit my inbox, I get over involved, I try to help where no help is needed, and I pretty much place too much importance in my capabilities, I worry where worrying is not required, and I. Work. Fast. And I do all of this knowing it is stuff that I can’t and should not put on my resume.

I thought I knew when to switch off but as it turns out, I don’t. You know how life puts you in these situations where you learn new things about yourself? Yes, I am in that kinda spot right now. Because on most days, my life would be so much easier if I just knew when to slow down and when to just plain stop. I am not that important. I have my ethics, true. But that doesn’t mean I have to be available 24×7. I have quit jobs complaining of far too much work life balance than I could handle. I don’t regret my decision but in the madness that I am in right now, if I can learn to switch off once I am out of office, I’d be a much happier person. Nobody is perfect. Work ethics, taking my heart to work, and loving what I do is all very well. But if  you know how to switch when the world is not ending, nothing like it. If nothing else, this is a learning I am going to take away when I move on. In 2 years or 5, I know I will learn a thing or two about work life balance. That can’t be bad.

This is the first day of a four day weekend and I swear I am not available to do anything other than what I want to do. And no, it is not going to be work. I plan to drive aimlessly, catch up with friends, maybe see the city a little more, remember the awesomeness of doing nothing, listen to music, catch up on some long downloaded movies, finish the Bryson I have been reading for over a month now, and maybe have a big Eid buffet and go to Genting with all my touristy enthusiasm. It’s been raining on and off in KL and I am hoping to catch some of it when I am on the road. I might just have the kind of weekend haathi wrote about and I have been longing for. 

It is time to take control. Or maybe give up control. It’s time to switch off and switch off I will.

Selamat Aidilfitri, Eid Mubarak, eat all the seviyaan, and stay blessed dear folks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

