There is something awesome about discovery..

And chance.. And change..

Like getting out of the LRT in search of greasy parathas after a week of lame lunches and 15 minute dinners. If you are new to KL, and have been missing the real Indian khana (not the stuff sold in fancy restaurants at a premium that is too high if you still do an x17 every time you hear a price quoted in The Great Malaysian Ringgit), take the LRT to Masjid Jamek, get out of the station from the OCBC building exit, turn right and walk till you see this tiny desi dhaba called Jai Hind. Order a naan and a roti, and a mutton vindaloo. And bless me.

Like a pub that plays “our” kind of music a hop, skip, jump away from home. (Rockafellas, PJ, for the uninitiated.) And one with the awesome German beer and food, a hop, skip, jump on the other side (Deutsches Haus, PJ, in case). Like super cheap burger that is half vada paav and half dhabeli, at a roadside van. And the local, awesomely delicious, blackcurrant flavoured answer to Tang, that given the weather here, is my lifeline. It is called Ribena, in case you are new to KL, spoiled by Bangalore, and always about to kill someone after 5 minutes in the sun.

Like Swagat in Bangsar – that delivers ghar ka khana woohoo! (Yes, my discovery and joy usually revolves around food and beverage. And R. Sue me!)

Like figuring out that people are people are people. Some like to work, some take pride in it, some couldn’t care less. It has nothing to do with cultures, countries, continents. Trust me.

Like being this close to giving up on my ability to make new friends, giving up on my ability to even keep old friends (I am not good at keeping in touch, and I don’t have much patience for the sheer waste of time that is “catching up” with people I no longer have anything in common with.), and then suddenly, one fine day – making new friends. Or meeting people I actually want to make an effort to be friends with. Those that remind me of old friends like they really used to be, and make me want to get back in touch with them too! I have done that a lot in the last couple of months, and I am only glad!

Like knowing that I may not be an immensely likeable person (I’m not, trust me – I rub off people the wrong way. Sometimes too quickly and too easily, sometimes eventually.). But the people who matter – they love me. (And no, I am not talking about the biased love of family.) And I guess I am good with that for now!

Like endless discussions on the car we are going to buy, getting priorities sorted, deciding, un-deciding, and re-deciding. In a way that is actually contructive and not frustrating, as my indecisions of the past used to be.

Like I said in a post (and Ted said in an episode of HIMYM), there’s no way of knowing for sure where the safest place is. So the best you can hope for is to have some good company.

And change is sometimes the best thing that can happen to you. I think I am very close to getting over the big move and writing about regular things. Like restaurant reviews and vacation plans. I am getting there. Thanks for listening – you’ve no idea how much you helped!

This entry was posted in change, cheap beer, eating out, indian food, malaysia diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is something awesome about discovery..

  1. Roxy says:

    I love the ‘regular happy tone’ of this post :). Touch wood.

    Like

  2. hAAthi says:

    Woot Woot!
    You sound settled already and yeah, discover is such an awesome part of planting your feet. Im sorry for going ditto ditto all the time, but our journeys to new places in the world and in life are ridiculously similar. I remember the comfort in new discoveries I first made when I moved. And this struck a chord somewhere..sigh

    Like

  3. darkcomedy says:

    Look at you, being you again :) Looks like you’ll be my go-to guide if and when I visit KL. Awesome new discoveries.. keep us posted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

