I was sitting in a roadside eatery somewhere between a mamak and an udupi restaurant earlier today, and a local walked in a few minutes ago. A beggar. As is my Indian conditioning, with beggars at every traffic signal in most cities, I do a pretty good job of tuning them. I did exactly that when this guy approached my table. A few minutes later, I was a little surprised to see other people scurrying to pay him some money. One man even bought him two plates of full meal, not before casting in my way what was probably his dirtiest look ever. I was mortified. As for the beggar, he just wasted everything that was served to him.

I am not trying to make any kind of point here. I just wanted to put it out there. So that some day I can come back to this post and figure out why exactly I am so upset about this episode.

This entry was posted in living abroad, malaysia diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

